How Do You Get ME to Learn?

As an extension to our first post, some educators suggested that we consider our question of “How Do We Get Kids to Learn?” from a possible student perspective. So without further explanation:

How do you get ME to learn when…

  • I don’t want to or have a reason to care about what is being taught?
  • You never stop telling us the answers, and sometimes we can’t hear them all as fast as you are talking?
  • I know that if I struggle, you will help me finish my paper correctly?
  • all you expect me to do is sit there and be quiet?
  • I can simply “Google It” or “Ask Siri” to find the facts you are asking me to memorize?
  • school is so boring?
  • I have already learned half of what you are teaching me, but I won’t say anything because I would rather not stretch myself anyway?
  • cooperative work really means chill with my¬†friends, and copy each other?
  • your feedback just gives me the right answers?
  • you won’t call on me anyway because I didn’t raise my hand?
  • you are so busy talking that you won’t notice if I take a brief nap, send a text, write a note, do my homework for other classes, or talk quietly with my friends?
  • learning in school is really just an exercise in following directions?
  • I am already so far behind that I am completely lost?
  • I don’t know what you want from me?
  • your teaching doesn’t make me think, be responsible, or own anything?

But please don’t change anything. I am a kid, and I like the idea of just having to show up for school, do what you tell me to, and hang around for 13 years and you will let me out. I don’t want the responsibility of learning and would prefer you to shoulder the burden because you are accountable for this stuff, not me.

Ok, Ok. This isn’t a real student, but it is a real message. How will we change our own behaviors to change this perspective? How will we help each other commit to change?

 
photo credit: Gunnsi via photopin cc

Posted on November 5, 2012, in Change, Instruction, Learners, Students. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

